Top 3018s

3018 Pro CNC Machine: Every 3018-PRO Kit, Spindle and Frame

Genmitsu, CNCTOPBAOS, RATTMMOTOR, Twotrees and VEVOR all build the same 300 × 180 mm desktop router. The differences sit in the spindle, the Z carriage, the controller and what else is packed in the box.

Logged September 2026
Quick answer

The 3018-PRO is an open design: an aluminium-profile router with a 300 × 180 × 45 mm work area, a 775 spindle, an ER11 collet and a GRBL board. Genmitsu's kit is the most bought and includes an offline controller; CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR build it with boards ready for limit switches and an E-stop; Twotrees' TTC3018 Pro adds an all-metal Z.

  • Wood, acrylic, PCB: any 3018-PRO build
  • Stiffer Z for fine V-bit and brass work: TTC3018 Pro
  • No laptop at the machine: an offline-controller kit
Most complete 3018-PRO kit1 Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit
Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit
Offline controller in the box and more bundle options than any other 3018-PRO.
  • 300 × 180 × 45 mm
  • 775 brushed spindle, ER11 collet
  • Offline controller: runs without a PC
Get it here
Cased board, lower cost3 CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router
A cased GRBL 1.1f board with an offline controller and ports for switches and a probe.
  • 300 × 180 × 45 mm
  • 775 brushed spindle, ER11 collet
  • Offline controller: runs without a PC
Get it here

One 3018-PRO frame, built by five makers

The 3018 Pro CNC machine began as an open design, and the name now covers kits from Genmitsu, CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR, with Twotrees and VEVOR building close relatives under their own model names. Underneath, the parts barely change.

  • Frame: aluminium profiles for the gantry and bed, with injection-moulded end plates on the lighter kits.
  • Motion: T8 lead screws on 10 mm round rods, driven by Nema 17 steppers of about 1.3A.
  • Spindle: a 775 brushed DC motor in a 42–43 mm holder, fitted with an ER11 collet.
  • Brains: a GRBL 1.1 board fed over USB, usually with a header for an offline controller.
  • Envelope: 300 × 180 mm in X and Y, and 40 to 45 mm of Z.
  • Footprint: about 420 × 350 × 270 mm on the bench.

Because the bones match, many parts cross between brands. A 300 × 180 mm MDF spoilboard, a 42 mm dust shoe or an M6 T-track clamp fits most 3018-PRO builds, and a GRBL board from one maker drives another's steppers.

Before swapping parts between brands, measure three things: rod diameter, lead-screw size and spindle diameter. Most mismatches trace back to one of them.

The choice between builds comes down to four questions: what the kit includes, how stiff the Z carriage is, what the controller can plug into, and how good the maker's documentation is.

For the wider picture of materials and first projects, the what a 3018 cuts entry starts from zero. Genmitsu's own two frames get a closer look in the Genmitsu 3018 entry.

Feeds & figures

What each 3018-PRO build brings

BuildSpindleWork areaControllerExtras
Genmitsu 3018-PRO775, 24V300 × 180 × 45 mmGRBL, offline controller includedRaised 4 cm base; bundles with bits, probe, laser or Y extension
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO775, 120W, 10,000 rpm at 24V300 × 180 × 45 mmCased GRBL 1.1f; offline or touchscreen controller versionsE-stop, probe and limit ports; 12V laser header
RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO775, 10,000 rpm at 24V300 × 180 × 45 mmGRBL board; offline controller versionE-stop and limit support, cooling fan
RATTMMOTOR Upgrade 3018-PROBoard supports up to 20,000 rpmNot statedGRBL board with power switchE-stop and X/Y/Z limit switches fitted
Twotrees TTC3018775, 7,000–9,000 rpm300 × 180 × 40 mm32-bit STM32 GRBL board, USBER11 collet for 0.5–7 mm bits
Twotrees TTC3018 Pro775, 7,000–9,000 rpm300 × 180 × 40 mm32-bit GRBL board, USB onlyAll-metal Z, T8 anti-backlash screw, 10 cutters
VEVOR 3018 (60W)60W, 11,700 rpm300 × 180 × 40 mm32-bit board, GRBL 1.1Rotary speed knob; Y extendable to 400 mm

From each maker's published specifications. 'Not stated' means the maker gives no figure for that build.

Kit contents for a first cut in birch plywood

Two 3018-PRO kits with the same frame can land very differently on the bench. The box contents decide whether the first plywood coaster happens that evening or after a second order of bits and clamps.

BuildWhat comes in the box
Genmitsu 3018-PROOffline controller; bundles add end mills, an MDF spoilboard, a touch probe, a 5W laser, a Y extension or a dust shoe
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO4 GB USB drive with GRBL software and manual; versions with an offline controller, a touchscreen controller, or limit switches and an E-stop
RATTMMOTOR 3018-PROPaper manual and USB drive; a version with an offline controller
RATTMMOTOR Upgrade 3018-PROE-stop button, X/Y/Z limit switches, orange resin Y-axis sides
Twotrees TTC3018 ProTen cutters, ER11 collet, tools and more than 40 parts to assemble

Bits run out first, since the glue in MDF and plywood dulls small carbide quickly. A 40-piece 1/8-inch set covers flat, ball-nose and V profiles for the first months.

  1. Pick the build by its Z carriage and controller.
  2. Check whether a spoilboard is included; if not, add a 300 × 180 × 12 mm MDF one.
  3. Add clamps that match the bed: T-track for profile beds, M6 for drilled spoilboards.
  4. Add a touch probe before a faster spindle.

Kits that include limit switches save a wiring job later. Kits with an offline controller free the laptop, which matters most in a garage or shed.

Birch plywood is the kind first material for any of them: stable, cheap and honest about a dull bit through fuzzy top veneer. Twotrees' kit, with more than 40 parts to put together, doubles as a lesson in how the axes move.

Spindle to spindle

3018-PRO builds from five makers

Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit Twotrees TTC3018 Pro CNC Router Twotrees TTC3018 Pro CNC Router Twotrees TTC3018 CNC Router Twotrees TTC3018 CNC Router CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO CNC Router RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO CNC Router VEVOR 3018 CNC Router VEVOR 3018 CNC Router
TypeMachineMachineMachineMachineMachineMachine
Spindle775 spindle775 spindle775 spindle775 spindle775 spindle60W spindle
Work area300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 40 mm300 × 180 × 40 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 40 mm
FrameAluminium + plasticAll-metalAluminium + plasticAluminium + plasticAluminium + plasticAluminium + plastic
Linear guidesNoNoNoNoNoNo
Offline controllerYesNot includedNot includedYesNot includedNot included
Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here
Measurements

Measured specs of the top three

Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit
Genmitsu 3018-PRO CNC Router Kit
Model
Genmitsu 3018-PRO
Working area (X × Y × Z)
300 × 180 × 45 mm (11.8 × 7.1 × 1.8 in)
Machine footprint
400 × 330 × 240 mm (15.7 × 13.0 × 9.4 in)
Frame
PF plates on aluminium profile, base raised to 4 cm
Bed
T-slot 2040 aluminium profile
Motion system
Linear shafts and leadscrews
Maximum travel speed
1200 mm/min
Z-axis carriage
Nylon
Spindle
775 DC motor, 24V
Spindle power
60W rated, 120W maximum
Stepper motors
1.3 A, 0.25 N·m holding torque
Included bits
20° V-bits, 0.1 mm tip, 3.175 mm (1/8 in) shank
Logbook entry →Get it here
Twotrees TTC3018 Pro CNC Router
Twotrees TTC3018 Pro CNC Router
Model
Twotrees TTC3018 Pro
Working area (X × Y × Z)
300 × 180 × 40 mm
Machine size
420 × 355 × 280 mm
Weight
15 lb (6.8 kg)
Z axis
All-metal carriage
Z drive
T8 leadscrew with anti-backlash nut
Positioning accuracy (maker's figure)
0.1 mm
Controller
32-bit GRBL control board
Connection
USB cable to a computer
Offline and wireless
No TF card slot, no Bluetooth, no Wi-Fi
File format
.nc / G-code
Spindle
775 motor, 7,000–9,000 rpm
Logbook entry →Get it here
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO CNC Router
Brand
CNCTOPBAOS
Manufacturer
Changzhou Rattm Motor Co., Ltd
Working area
300 × 180 × 45 mm (11.8 × 7.1 × 1.8 in)
Frame size
420 × 350 × 270 mm (16.53 × 13.78 × 10.63 in)
Frame
PA6 nylon (resin) side plates on aluminium profile
Worktable
Aluminium alloy
Lead screws
Stainless steel
Spindle
775 motor, 120 W, 12–36 V
Spindle speed
10,000 rpm at 24 V
Stepper motors
Nema17, 1.33 A, 0.3 N·m (43 oz-in), 42 × 42 × 34 mm
Controller
GRBL 1.1f board, outer case, cooling fan, power switch
Board ports
E-stop, probe, X/Y/Z limits, offline controller
Logbook entry →Get it here

Cast acrylic and PCB on the stock 775 spindle

Every 3018-PRO build except VEVOR's 60W model uses a 775 brushed motor. Makers quote 7,000 to 10,000 rpm for it at 24V, and the load it can carry depends as much on the holder and Z carriage as on its label.

Cast acrylic rewards that speed range. A single-flute O-flute bit at moderate rpm clears a proper chip, and the cut edge comes off clear rather than frosted.

Copper-clad board is the opposite job: tiny depths, a sharp 20–30° V-bit and a board held dead flat. Here the 775's top speed helps, because a small V-tip cuts cleaner the faster it spins.

  • Twotrees TTC3018 and TTC3018 Pro: 7,000–9,000 rpm, with an ER11 collet for 0.5–7 mm shanks.
  • CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR: 10,000 rpm at 24V, and 120W on the CNCTOPBAOS spec.
  • VEVOR 60W: 11,700 rpm with a rotary speed knob, a lighter motor for engraving.
  • Upgrade path: the Genmitsu GS-775M at 20,000 rpm drops into the same holder.

Faster spindles pull more current at start-up, so the GS-775M wants a 24V supply rated for it, such as Genmitsu's 4A adapter. Boards from CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR state support for spindles up to 20,000 rpm.

Write the rpm, feed and depth of every clean acrylic cut on the sheet's protective film. The next sheet from the same supplier will cut the same way.

Extruded acrylic is the trap. It softens at a lower temperature than cast sheet and welds shut behind the bit, so cast sheet is what to order for machining.

Bench favourite

Double the 775's top speed

Genmitsu GS-775M Spindle Motor
Best first spindle upgrade Genmitsu GS-775M Spindle Motor

The GS-775M swaps into a 3018-PRO holder and runs to 20,000 rpm on 24V, with a 5 mm ER11 collet set and a noise-suppression board fitted. Pair it with a 24V supply rated for its start-up current.

Get it here

GRBL boards and offline controllers across the builds

The controller is where 3018-PRO builds differ most, and it shapes how a job starts. Every build here speaks GRBL, the open-source firmware that turns G-code into step pulses, so Candle, UGS and Easel drive them all.

BoardDriver chipNotable ports
CNCTOPBAOS GRBL 1.1f, casedNot statedE-stop, probe, X/Y/Z limits, fan, power switch, 12V laser
RATTMMOTOR GRBL 1.1Not statedE-stop, limits, probe, offline controller, fan
Genmitsu replacement boardDRV8825Spindle up to 150W, 2- and 3-pin lasers
MYSWEETY GRBL 1.1fA4988Spindle up to 150W, 2- and 3-pin lasers
Twotrees 32-bitSTM32 processorUSB only: no card slot, no Wi-Fi

An offline controller is a small handheld with a screen, buttons and a card reader. It jogs each axis, sets the work origin, switches the spindle and runs a file from the card.

That is what turns a CNC 3018 Pro with GRBL control into a DIY mini CNC machine for a shed, with no computer beside it.

  • Genmitsu includes one with the 3018-PRO kit.
  • CNCTOPBAOS offers versions with a button controller or a touchscreen one.
  • RATTMMOTOR's board detects its offline controller automatically.
  • Twotrees' TTC boards take jobs over USB only.

A replacement board is a common repair after a wiring slip. Match the input voltage, 24V on these kits, and the laser header type before ordering one.

Software for each step, from CAM to G-code sender, is laid out in the 3018 CNC software entry.

Plotted

Spindle top speed, stock and upgraded

Maximum spindle speed as each maker states it, at 24V for the 775 motors. Speed under load is lower on any brushed motor.

Soft aluminium and brass on a stiffened 3018-PRO

A stock 3018-PRO can engrave aluminium and brass, but a moulded Z carriage and 10 mm rods flex under side load. Stiffening the frame part by part turns chatter into a clean floor.

  1. A metal Z carriage. The Twotrees TTC3018 Pro ships with one on a T8 anti-backlash screw; Genmitsu's Aluminium Z Axis Assembly V2 retrofits a 3018-PRO and raises effective Z to 56 mm.
  2. X-axis bearing blocks. Upgrade kits add metal SCS12VUU and SCV10VUU blocks to the X gantry.
  3. Limit switches and an E-stop. A six-switch kit sized for 3018-PRO frames adds homing and a hard stop.
  4. A longer, stiffer bed. The Y extension paired with the T-slot 3040 aluminium spoilboard firms up the base while adding travel.

Even stiffened, a 775 frame treats metal as engraving work: light depths, single-flute carbide, lubricant and patient feeds. Nameplates in brass and thin 6061 panels are realistic; deep pockets are not.

  • Brass breaks into short chips and finishes bright.
  • Aluminium needs chips cleared constantly or they weld to the flute.
  • Copper smears at low rpm; keep the spindle near its top speed.
Reading cnc 3018 pro engraving machine reviews? Note the maker, the Z carriage and the spindle behind each one. A result from a metal-Z build does not carry over to a moulded one.

Owners who need metal every week tend to outgrow the 3018-PRO frame. The 3018 Pro Max comparison covers 500W frames with 80 mm of Z, and the 3018 upgrades entry ranks every add-on by payoff.

Bench notes

Asked before the first cut

Is the 3018-PRO the same machine from every brand?

The frame design and work area are shared. The spindle, Z carriage, controller board and kit contents differ from maker to maker.

What comes in a CNC 3018 Pro engraving machine kit?

Frame parts, a 775 spindle with an ER11 collet, a GRBL board, a few bits and software on a USB drive. Genmitsu adds an offline controller; some CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR versions add limit switches and an E-stop.

Can a 3018-PRO run without a computer?

Yes, with an offline controller. It runs G-code from a card, jogs the axes and switches the spindle; Genmitsu includes one, and CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR offer versions with it.

Which 3018-PRO build has the stiffest Z?

The Twotrees TTC3018 Pro, with an all-metal Z on a T8 anti-backlash screw. A Genmitsu 3018-PRO can be retrofitted with the Aluminium Z Axis Assembly V2.

Can a 3018-PRO take a laser module?

Yes. The CNCTOPBAOS board takes 12V three-pin modules from 0.5W to 20W, and Genmitsu's board takes 2- and 3-pin lasers.

Next entry

More logbook entries

On the bench

First add-ons for a 3018-PRO

Past the 3018

Bits to run it, frames to outgrow it

Not 3018 machines, but bought with them: 1/8-inch end mill sets for the ER11 collet, and the 4040-size routers owners move to once 300 × 180 mm runs out.