Top 3018s

3018 Pro Max CNC Router Machine: 500W LUNYEE vs the 775 Pro Max Kits

LUNYEE's 500W all-metal machine and the 775-spindle kits from CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR share a name and little else. Spindle, Z travel and frame decide which one mills your stock cleanly.

Logged September 2026
Verdict

Pick the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max if aluminium, brass or thick hardwood are on the plan: a 500W spindle, 80 mm of Z and an all-metal frame. Pick a 775 Pro Max kit such as the CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX if the work is plywood, acrylic and PCB and the budget is tight.

  • Soft metal, deep reliefs: LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max or the VEVOR 500W
  • Signs, panels, circuit boards: a 775 Pro Max kit
  • Metal every week: step up to the linear-guide Pro Ultra
Best 775 Pro Max kit2 CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router
A cased GRBL 1.1 board with an offline controller on the classic 3018-PRO frame.
  • 300 × 180 × 45 mm
  • 775 brushed spindle, ER11 collet
  • Offline controller: runs without a PC
Get it here

Three machines share the 3018 Pro Max badge

The 3018 Pro Max CNC router machine is not one design. LUNYEE uses the name for a 500W, all-metal frame with 80 mm of Z; CNCTOPBAOS and RATTMMOTOR use it for 775-spindle kits with an upgraded GRBL board, and VEVOR's 500W machine carries 3018-PRO MAX as its model number.

Read any 3018 Pro Max review with that split in mind. A note about chatter in aluminium on a 775 kit says nothing about a 500W frame. A complaint about a heavy crate says nothing about a light kit.

  • LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max: 500W spindle at 0–12,000 rpm, a 300 × 180 × 80 mm work area, 12 mm optical axes, six limit switches, an E-stop and an offline controller.
  • VEVOR 500W (3018-PRO MAX): the same 300 × 180 × 80 mm envelope and 12 mm rods, with a 1.8-inch offline screen and handwheels on all three axes.
  • CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX: a 120W 775 spindle at 10,000 rpm on 24V, a 45 mm Z, and a cased GRBL 1.1f board with an offline controller.
  • RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX: a 775 on 12–24V, moulded frame ends on an aluminium table, and a GRBL 1.1 board wired for an E-stop and limit switches.

The first pair belong to the 3018 500W CNC router machine class. The second pair are 3018-PRO kits with better electronics, a smaller step than the name suggests.

Check the spindle line before anything else. "500W" or "775" sorts the Pro Max family more cleanly than any badge on the gantry.

Kits without the Max badge, such as the Genmitsu and Twotrees builds, are laid side by side in the 3018-PRO kits compared entry.

Feeds & figures

Four Pro Max builds spec for spec

LUNYEE 3018 Pro MaxVEVOR 500WCNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAXRATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX
Spindle500W, 0–12,000 rpm500W775, 120W, 10,000 rpm at 24V775, 12–24V, 10,000 rpm at 24V
Work area300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm
FrameAll-metal, 12 mm optical axisAluminium alloy, 12 mm optical axisAluminium profileMoulded ends, aluminium table
ControllerGRBL, offline controllerGRBL 1.1, 1.8-inch offline controllerCased GRBL 1.1f board, offline controllerGRBL 1.1 board, offline controller supported
Limit switches and E-stop6 switches and E-stop6 switches and E-stopPorts on the boardSupported by the board
HandwheelsX, Y and ZX, Y and ZNoneNone
Laser supportSpindle or engraving headSpindle or engraving head12V 3-pin, 0.5W–20WNot stated
Weight13 kg24.5 lbNot statedNot stated

From each maker's published specifications. 'Not stated' means the maker gives no figure for that build.

6061 plate and brass under the 500W LUNYEE spindle

Soft metal is where the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max CNC machine 500W earns its weight. The spindle runs from 0 to 12,000 rpm off a 48V supply, and the frame has no plastic structural parts, so cutting force goes into the chip instead of into a flexing carriage.

A brushed 775 slows when the bit loads up, and a slowed bit rubs aluminium instead of cutting it. A 500W DC spindle holds speed better under the same load, which keeps chips forming and stops the flute packing with gummy metal.

StockBitPass depth to try firstWhat to watch
6061 aluminiumSingle-flute carbide, 1/8 inch0.2–0.4 mmChips welding to the flute
Brass2-flute carbide0.2–0.4 mmBurrs on thin walls
CopperSingle-flute carbide0.1–0.3 mmSmearing at low rpm
Hardwood2-flute up-cut1–2 mmScorching on slow corners

Those depths are starting points, not limits. They shift with bit sharpness, stick-out from the collet and how tightly the stock is clamped, so a test pocket in scrap comes first.

  • Top movement speed reaches 5,000 mm/min, useful for rapids between features rather than for cutting metal.
  • The machine weighs 13 kg, and that mass damps vibration a light kit passes straight into the bit.
  • A 12 mm optical axis is stiffer than the 10 mm rods found on many 3018-PRO kits.

Every measurement sits in the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max spec log, including the bundle that adds 40 end mills.

Plotted

Z travel across the Pro Max field

Z-axis travel each maker quotes for its work area. Usable clearance under the collet is smaller once a bit and clamps are fitted.

80 mm of Z over a vise and a thick walnut blank

Z travel on a 3018 decides what fits under the spindle, not how deep one pass can go. The 45 mm Z on the 775 Pro Max kits shrinks fast once a collet, a bit and a clamp share that space.

With 80 mm on the LUNYEE and the VEVOR 500W, a small machine vise, a spoilboard stacked with stock, or a 50 mm hardwood blank for relief carving all clear the bit. That is the real gain for anyone carving bowls, deep stamps or tall signs.

  1. Measure stock, spoilboard and clamp height together.
  2. Add the length of bit hanging below the collet.
  3. Leave a few millimetres of lift for rapids between pockets.
  4. Compare the total with the Z figure: 45 mm, 60 mm or 80 mm.

Safety hardware comes with the long Z. The LUNYEE carries six limit switches, two per axis, so GRBL can home to a known corner and stop a runaway move at either end.

The E-stop cuts motion at once. Handwheels on X, Y and Z let the origin be set by hand with the power off, a small comfort when lining a bit up over the corner of a blank.

Long Z and long bits make a lever. Keep bit stick-out short even when the frame allows more clearance.

The 775 kits handle limits differently: their boards have the ports, and a limit switch and E-stop kit with six switches fills them later.

Bench favourite

A third 500W 3018, supply built in

WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router
Best 500W frame with a built-in supply WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router

WolfPawn's 3018 500W puts the power supply inside the chassis and gives 60 mm of Z on an all-metal frame. Limit switches and an E-stop come fitted, and the main parts arrive pre-assembled.

Get it here

Plywood signs and FR4 on the 775 Pro Max kits

The CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX and the RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX are the light end of the name. Both keep the 300 × 180 × 45 mm work area and the 775 spindle of a 3018-PRO, then add a better-equipped GRBL 1.1 board.

For wood, acrylic, PVC and circuit boards, that combination is plenty. A 775 at 10,000 rpm on 24V takes a 1/8-inch bit through birch plywood in shallow passes, and V-bit isolation cuts on copper-clad board need a steady feed more than spindle power.

  • Board ports: E-stop, tool-setting probe, X/Y/Z limit inputs and a fan header on the CNCTOPBAOS casing.
  • Spindle headroom: both boards drive up to a 20,000 rpm spindle, so a faster 775 drops in without new electronics.
  • Laser support: the CNCTOPBAOS board takes 12V three-pin PWM or TTL modules from 0.5W to 20W.
  • Offline control: an SD-card controller runs G-code files and jogs each axis with no computer attached.

Motors are standard Nema 17 steppers. CNCTOPBAOS quotes 1.33A and 0.3 N·m; RATTMMOTOR quotes 1.3A and 0.25 N·m, with injection-moulded frame ends, an aluminium work table and stainless lead screws.

Aluminium is possible on these kits, but as engraving and thin-sheet work in very light passes. Anyone planning brackets or pockets in 6061 should budget for a 500W frame from the start.

Versions with and without the offline controller are logged in the CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX entry.

Spindle to spindle

Pro Max frames on one bench

LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router VEVOR 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router VEVOR 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX CNC Router RATTMMOTOR 3018-PRO MAX CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router
TypeMachineMachineMachineMachineMachineMachine
Spindle500W spindle500W spindle500W spindle775 spindle775 spindle500W spindle
Work area300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 60 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 45 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm
FrameAll-metalAll-metalAll-metalAluminium + plasticAluminium + plasticAll-metal
Linear guidesNoNoNoNoNoYes
Offline controllerYesYesNot includedYesNot includedYes
Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here
Measurements

Measured specs of the top three

LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router
LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router
Model
LUNYEE 3018 PRO MAX
Working area (X × Y × Z)
300 × 180 × 80 mm
Frame
All-metal, reinforced aluminium profiles; no plastic parts except electrics
Spindle
500W
Spindle speed
0–12,000 rpm
Maximum travel speed
5,000 mm/min
Motion system
12 mm optical axis rods with T-type leadscrews
Carving precision (maker's figure)
±0.1 mm
Limit switches
6
Emergency stop
Included
Manual positioning
Handwheels on X, Y and Z
Control
GRBL, with offline controller
Logbook entry →Get it here
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router
CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX CNC Router
Model
3018-PRO-MAX
Brand
CNCTOPBAOS (made by Changzhou Rattm Motor)
Working area
300 × 180 × 45 mm (11.8 × 7.1 × 1.8 in)
Frame size
420 × 350 × 270 mm
Frame material
Aluminium
Spindle
775 DC motor, 120W, 12–36V
Spindle speed
10,000 rpm at 24V
Collet
ER11 with 3.175 mm collet; 0–7 mm collets fit
Stepper motors
Nema 17, 1.33A, 0.3 N·m (43 oz-in), 42 × 42 × 34 mm
Controller
GRBL 1.1f board in a casing, with fan and power switch
Board ports
E-stop, probe, X/Y/Z limits, offline controller
Spindle drive
Supports spindles up to 20,000 rpm
Logbook entry →Get it here

Matching a Pro Max to acrylic, aluminium or plywood

Material first, then power supply, then desk space. That order sorts the Pro Max family in a few minutes.

  • Wood, acrylic, PCB, occasional thin aluminium: a 775 Pro Max kit is enough, and the money saved buys bits and clamps.
  • Weekly aluminium or brass: the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max, or the VEVOR 500W with its screen-equipped offline controller.
  • Deep reliefs and thick blanks: either 80 mm-Z frame.
  • Metal every day: step past the Pro Max to the linear-guide Pro Ultra.

Power is the quiet difference. The 500W frames run from a heavier supply than the 24V bricks of the 775 kits, and LUNYEE specifies 48V for its spindle.

Plan a stable surface, too. A 13 kg frame plus spoilboard and clamps is too much for a folding table that sways with every direction change.

Part500W LUNYEE Pro Max775 Pro Max kits
Dust shoe52 mm, the usual 500W spindle body42 mm, the 775 body
ClampsLUNYEE tiger claw or mini hold-downM6 T-track clamps
SpoilboardLUNYEE grid MDF, 300 × 180 × 12 mm3018 MDF, 300 × 180 × 12 mm
Z zeroTouch probe on the GRBL probe inputTouch probe on the board's probe port
Buy the spoilboard and clamps with the machine. A 500W spindle throws a loose blank harder than a 775 does.

Rails instead of rods are the subject of the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra entry, and both VEVOR builds sit in the VEVOR 3018 entry.

Bench notes

Asked before the first cut

Is the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max the same machine as the CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX?

No. LUNYEE's Pro Max is a 500W, all-metal frame with 80 mm of Z. The CNCTOPBAOS 3018-PRO-MAX is a 775-spindle kit with 45 mm of Z and an upgraded GRBL 1.1f board.

Can a 3018 Pro Max cut aluminium?

The 500W versions take 6061, brass and copper in light passes with single-flute carbide. The 775 kits manage engraving and thin soft aluminium, slowly.

What does 500W mean on a 3018 500W CNC router machine?

It is the spindle rating. LUNYEE, WolfPawn and ACMER quote 0 to 12,000 rpm for their 500W spindles, against 7,000 to 10,000 rpm for a stock 775.

Does the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max need a computer?

No. Its offline controller runs G-code files and sets the origin on its own. A 4 GB USB drive with GRBL software comes in the box for PC control.

Which 3018 Pro Max has the most Z travel?

The LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max and the VEVOR 500W both offer 80 mm. The WolfPawn 500W has 60 mm, and the 775 kits 45 mm.

Next entry

More logbook entries

On the bench

Parts for a Pro Max

Past the 3018

Bits to run it, frames to outgrow it

Not 3018 machines, but bought with them: 1/8-inch end mill sets for the ER11 collet, and the 4040-size routers owners move to once 300 × 180 mm runs out.