Top 3018s

LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra CNC Machine: HGH15 Rail on a 500W Frame

The Pro Ultra is LUNYEE's 3018 Pro Max with a profile rail on X, heavier profiles and a grid-marked aluminium bed. It is built for brass, copper and 6061 aluminium on a desk.

Logged September 2026
LUNYEE 3018 range, 2026

LUNYEE builds two 3018s, both 500W, all-metal and 300 × 180 × 80 mm: the 3018 Pro Max on 12 mm optical axes, and the 3018 Pro Ultra with an HGH15 linear guide on X, 2040 X and 4040 Y profiles, a one-piece aluminium bed and an integrated power supply. LUNYEE also makes clamps, a grid MDF spoilboard and a 52 mm dust shoe that suit both.

  • Pro Ultra: metal most weeks
  • Pro Max: wood first, metal now and then
  • Both: offline controller, limit switches, E-stop

Brass nameplates and the HGH15 rail on X

The LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra CNC machine starts from the Pro Max: the same 500W spindle, 80 mm of Z and all-metal frame. LUNYEE then moves the X axis onto an HGH15 linear guide, sets it on 2040 profiles, and carries Y on heavier 4040 profiles.

The rail matters most on the axis that carries the spindle. Round rods are held only at their ends, so a side load in the middle bends them slightly and the bit wanders.

A profile rail is bolted to the frame along its whole length, and its carriage runs on recirculating balls in ground tracks. Side loads meet a much stiffer path, which is the whole case for the upgrade.

  • Brass nameplates: crisp V-bit lettering and clean pocket floors need a carriage that does not deflect as the bit enters the stock.
  • Copper parts: a gummy metal that punishes chatter with smeared edges.
  • 6061 aluminium: the alloy LUNYEE names for drilling and engraving on the Ultra.

LUNYEE's own claim is that the rail and heavier profiles cure the Z-axis instability common to desktop 3018s. The mechanics support the direction of that claim, though results still depend on bit, clamping and feeds.

A rail adds stiffness only if the stock holds still. Put money into clamping or a vacuum table before asking the rail for deeper passes.

All measurements for both versions sit in the Pro Ultra spec log.

Spindle to spindle

Pro Ultra among 500W 3018s

LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W CNC Router ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W CNC Router WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router WolfPawn 3018 500W CNC Router VEVOR 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router VEVOR 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router
TypeMachineMachineMachineMachineMachine
Spindle500W spindle500W spindle500W spindle500W spindle500W spindle
Work area300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 78 mm300 × 180 × 60 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm
FrameAll-metalAll-metalAluminium + plasticAll-metalAll-metal
Linear guidesYesNoNoNoNo
Offline controllerYesYesNot includedNot includedYes
Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here Get it here
Measurements

Measured specs of the top three

LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router
LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra 500W CNC Router
Brand
LUNYEE
Model
3018 Pro Ultra
Spindle
500W (0.67 hp)
Working area
300 × 180 × 80 mm (11.8 × 7.1 × 3.1 in)
Z-axis height
80 mm
X-axis guide
HGH15 linear guide
X-axis profiles
2040 aluminium
Y-axis profiles
4040 aluminium
Frame
All-metal
Worktable
One-piece machined aluminium plate with a measurement scale grid
Clamps in the box
2 T-track mini hold-down clamps
Power supply
Integrated switching power supply
Logbook entry →Get it here
LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router
LUNYEE 3018 Pro Max 500W CNC Router
Model
LUNYEE 3018 PRO MAX
Working area (X × Y × Z)
300 × 180 × 80 mm
Frame
All-metal, reinforced aluminium profiles; no plastic parts except electrics
Spindle
500W
Spindle speed
0–12,000 rpm
Maximum travel speed
5,000 mm/min
Motion system
12 mm optical axis rods with T-type leadscrews
Carving precision (maker's figure)
±0.1 mm
Limit switches
6
Emergency stop
Included
Manual positioning
Handwheels on X, Y and Z
Control
GRBL, with offline controller
Logbook entry →Get it here
ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W CNC Router
ACMER Ascarva 3S 500W CNC Router
Model
ACMER Ascarva 3S
Working area
300 × 180 × 78 mm (11.81 × 7.09 × 3.07 in)
Spindle
500W DC spindle, 48V
Maximum spindle speed
12,000 rpm
Spindle power
0.67 hp
Collet
ER11
Repeat positioning accuracy
±0.025 mm
Frame
Reinforced aluminium alloy panels and extrusions, modular
Net weight
11.5 kg (25.4 lb)
Mainboard
ESP32
Connection
USB
Computer systems
Windows, macOS, Linux
Logbook entry →Get it here

6061 aluminium pockets on the Pro Ultra bed

Aluminium is the job the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra CNC machine 500W was built for. Its one-piece machined aluminium bed gives a flat reference, and the printed scale grid lines stock up without a square.

JobBitDepth per pass to startNote
Pocket in 3 mm 6061 plateSingle-flute carbide, 1/8 inch0.2–0.5 mmMist of lubricant or alcohol, chips cleared often
Engraved lettering30° carbide V-bit0.1–0.2 mmHigh rpm, light feed
Profile cut-outSingle-flute carbide0.2–0.4 mmLeave tabs; the part shifts on the last pass
HolesCarbide drill or end millPeck 0.5 mmRetract often to clear chips

Treat those figures as a first test, not a recipe. Bit sharpness, stick-out and clamping shift the safe depth widely, so cut a scrap pocket first and listen: a steady hiss is right, a scream or a hammering is not.

Workholding comes next. The Pro Ultra ships with two T-track mini hold-down clamps, and three add-ons fit its bed:

  • LUNYEE tiger claw side clamps, 55 × 22 × 19 mm, that grip from the edge and stay below the stock surface.
  • Zopsc tiger claw clamps made for the Pro Ultra, two to a pack with wrenches.
  • A Fafeicy vacuum table at -70 kPa for thin sheet that clamps would bow.

Side clamps leave the whole top face free, which suits facing and engraving passes. Hold-downs grip harder on thick blocks.

Plotted

Guide size under the X carriage

Rod diameter or rail width. Round rods are held only at their ends, while an HGH15 rail is bolted down along its length, so the stiffness gap is wider than the numbers suggest.

First evening with the Pro Ultra's built-in power supply

Setup on the Pro Ultra is shorter than on the Pro Max. The main parts come pre-assembled with clear cable routing, and the power supply now sits inside the machine rather than on a separate brick.

  1. Set the machine on a rigid bench; 14 kg on a folding table rocks with every direction change.
  2. Power up and home the machine against its X, Y and Z limit switches.
  3. Press the E-stop once to confirm it halts motion before the first job.
  4. Clamp a scrap of MDF, set Z zero, and run a shallow test file from the offline controller.
  5. Only then connect a PC and a GRBL sender for longer jobs.

LUNYEE supplies assembly videos and printed manuals, and says its support team answers within 24 hours. The offline controller lets a first test run go ahead without installing anything on a laptop.

  • Integrated supply: fewer loose cables near the bed and less wiring on day one.
  • Scale grid: stock placed by eye to the printed marks.
  • Two clamps in the box: enough for a first square blank.
  • Limit switches on all three axes: homing works from the first power-up.

A touch probe is worth adding early. A plate-and-clip probe wired to the GRBL probe input sets tool height in seconds and ends the paper-slip routine.

Run the first aluminium job only after a wood job has finished cleanly. A dry run in MDF shows clamp collisions for the price of a scrap.
Bench favourite

Vacuum hold-down for the Pro Ultra

Fafeicy Vacuum Table for 3018
Best clamp-free hold for sheet metal Fafeicy Vacuum Table for 3018

The Fafeicy vacuum table bolts to the Pro Ultra bed with four M6 × 20 screws and pulls -70 kPa from its built-in pump. Thin aluminium and acrylic sheet stay flat with no clamp in the tool path.

Get it here

Pro Ultra or Pro Max for a wood-first bench

For plywood, hardwood and acrylic, the Pro Max already has the power and the Z travel. The Pro Ultra's rail pays off when metal is on the bed most weeks, not once a season.

  • Pick the Pro Max for wood signs, hardwood relief, acrylic panels and occasional aluminium, with handwheels on all three axes for setting the origin by hand.
  • Pick the Pro Ultra for brass tags, copper parts and 6061 brackets, plus the integrated supply and grid bed.
  • Either one for thick stock: both carry 80 mm of Z travel.

Much of the kit crosses over. LUNYEE's grid MDF spoilboard, 300 × 180 × 12 mm with 24 M6 holes no more than 54 mm apart, is made for both machines, and so are its tiger claw and mini hold-down clamps.

The 52 mm dust shoe with a 38 mm hose port suits any 52 mm spindle body, the usual size for 500W motors. The Fafeicy vacuum table mounts to either: four screws on the Ultra, sliding M6 nuts in the Pro Max's T-slots.

The Pro Ultra comes in two versions. The earlier one leads with metal engraving and the Pro Max lineage; the later one is pitched at wood and soft metal and states the 300 × 180 × 80 mm work area and X, Y and Z limit switches outright.

The weight gap is one kilogram, 14 against 13. The Ultra's gain is stiffness where the cut happens, not mass.

The Pro Max's place among the other machines sharing its name, 775 kits included, is set out in the 3018 Pro Max comparison.

Feeds & figures

Pro Ultra and Pro Max, upgrade by upgrade

3018 Pro Ultra3018 Pro Max
Spindle500W500W, 0–12,000 rpm
Work area300 × 180 × 80 mm300 × 180 × 80 mm
X axisHGH15 linear guide, 2040 profiles12 mm optical axis
Y axis4040 profilesReinforced aluminium profiles
BedOne-piece aluminium plate with scale gridT-slot worktable
Power supplyIntegrated switching supplySeparate supply, 48V
Clamps in the boxTwo T-track mini hold-downsNot stated
SafetyX/Y/Z limit switches, E-stop6 limit switches, E-stop
Manual positioningNot statedHandwheels on X, Y and Z
Offline controlIncludedIncluded
Weight14 kg13 kg
Metals LUNYEE namesBrass, copper, 6061 aluminiumAluminium, copper

From LUNYEE's published specifications for each machine. 'Not stated' means LUNYEE gives no figure for that model.

Pro Ultra against the ACMER Ascarva 3S and WolfPawn 500W

Three other 500W frames of 3018 size compete for the same bench. None of them lists a profile rail on X, but each has a trait worth weighing.

MachineZ travelStand-out trait
LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra80 mmHGH15 linear guide on X
ACMER Ascarva 3S78 mmESP32 board, tool setter, ±0.025 mm repeatability claim
WolfPawn 3018 500W60 mmPower supply inside the chassis
VEVOR 3018 500W80 mm1.8-inch offline controller, LightBurn support

The ACMER Ascarva 3S is the closest match on paper. Its 500W, 48V spindle reaches 12,000 rpm in an ER11 collet, the machine weighs 11.5 kg, and six limit switches, an E-stop and a tool setter come with it.

ACMER also packs a parameter table with settings for RenShape, plywood, acrylic and PC board. That is a head start for a first-time machinist, though aluminium settings still come from test cuts.

  • Choose the ACMER for its tool setter, its ESP32 board and a lighter machine.
  • Choose the WolfPawn for a built-in supply at 60 mm of Z and 25.1 lb.
  • Choose the VEVOR 500W for a screen on the offline controller.
  • Choose the Pro Ultra when brass and aluminium are the weekly work.

The 3018 price bands entry sets these frames against the 775 kits by budget, and the 3018 upgrades entry covers what to add once the machine is running.

Bench notes

Asked before the first cut

How does the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra differ from the Pro Max?

The Pro Ultra adds an HGH15 linear guide on X, 2040 X and 4040 Y profiles, a one-piece aluminium bed with a scale grid and an integrated power supply. Spindle, 80 mm Z and offline control are shared.

Can the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra CNC machine 500W cut aluminium?

Yes. LUNYEE names brass, copper and 6061 aluminium for it; start with light passes, single-flute carbide bits and lubricant.

Does the Pro Ultra need a computer to run?

No. Its offline controller runs G-code files on its own, and GRBL software on a PC handles longer or more complex jobs.

Which clamps fit the LUNYEE 3018 Pro Ultra?

Two T-track mini hold-downs come in the box. LUNYEE's tiger claw and mini hold-down clamps, Zopsc tiger claws and the Fafeicy vacuum table are all made to fit it.

What is an HGH15 linear guide?

A profile rail 15 mm wide with a carriage running on recirculating balls. It is bolted along its full length, so it resists side loads far better than a round rod held at its ends.

Next entry

More logbook entries

On the bench

LUNYEE parts for both frames

Past the 3018

Bits to run it, frames to outgrow it

Not 3018 machines, but bought with them: 1/8-inch end mill sets for the ER11 collet, and the 4040-size routers owners move to once 300 × 180 mm runs out.